IBERS Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships for International Students at Aberystwyth University

Written by admin

IBERS Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships for International Students at Aberystwyth University

Applications for British Commonwealth Scholarships for the 2023/24 academic year are now open. The Institute of Biological, Environmental, and Rural Sciences (IBERS) at Aberystwyth University is pleased to offer a limited number of Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships.

The IBERS awards are available to individuals who are citizens of a developing or middle-income Commonwealth country, refugees, or British-protected persons. The purpose of this scholarship program is to recognize and support individuals with exceptional abilities who have the potential to bring about positive change.


Aberystwyth University, founded in 1872, is situated in the coastal town of Aberystwyth in mid-Wales and has earned a worldwide reputation for its exceptional teaching and pioneering research. IBERS, as a teaching and research institution within the university, has a unique standing.


What are the benefits of studying at Aberystwyth University? At Aberystwyth, students have access to a diverse range of courses that provide them with maximum choice and flexibility. It is a location where students can learn, discover, and develop. The university’s teaching, which has won numerous awards, empowers students to acquire new skills and tackle real-world problems.


Application Deadline: Applications will close on the 28th of March 2023.

Brief Description

  • University or Organization: Aberystwyth University
  • Department: Institute of Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences (IBERS)
  • Course Level: Masters (MSc)
  • Award: Tuition fees
  • Access Mode: Online
  • Number of Awards: A limited number of awards
  • Nationality: International
  • The award can be taken in the UK


  • Eligible Countries: Developing or middle-income Commonwealth countries: Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, and Zambia.
  • Acceptable Course or Subjects: The scholarship will be awarded for MSc programs as the following:
  • MSc Agrifood Innovation
  • MSc Bio-Innovation
  • MSc Sustainable and Efficient Food Production
  • Admissible Criteria: To be eligible, the applicants must meet all the following criteria:
  • Be IT literate and have access to broadband at a speed capable of streaming videos e.g. via YouTube.
  • Be a citizen of a developing or middle-income Commonwealth country, a refugee, or a British-protected person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible country
  • Not be currently in receipt of a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship
  • Undertake not to study towards any other qualification for the duration of their award.
  • Be unable to afford to study in the program without this scholarship.
  • Candidates employed in not-for-profit developmental roles impacting the agrifood sector
  • Candidates able to demonstrate how they will put new knowledge into practice
  • Candidates who will be able to carry out a work-based research project with potential for developmental impact.

How to Apply

  • How to Apply: To be considered, applicants must apply for a place on the MSc (via the appropriate links):
  • MSc Agrifood Innovation
  • MSc BioInnovation
  • MSc Sustainable and Efficient Food Production
  • After receiving a study offer, applicants can apply for the scholarship via the link CSC’s online application system.
  • Supporting Documents: As part of the online application for postgraduate study, candidates must upload the following documents with the application:
  • Copies of degree certificates and transcripts
  • All applicants are encouraged to submit an up-to-date Curriculum Vitae (CV) with their application.
  • Personal statement
  • Reference(s)/details of the referee(s) must be supplied for each application.

    • Proof that the applicant is a citizen or has refugee status in an eligible Commonwealth country: a copy of a valid passport (or national ID card) showing a photograph, date of birth, and country of citizenship
    • Full transcripts detailing all higher education qualifications, including to-date transcripts for any courses currently being studied, with certified translations if not in English
    • References from at least two individuals, on institutional letterhead or an email clearly showing the sender’s details
    • Admission Requirements: Applicants must hold at least a second-class honors degree in a relevant discipline OR have at least two years of relevant experience. Applications from mature candidates with relevant experience will be considered on a case-by-case basis
    • Language Requirement: Applicants from countries where English is not the first language must show evidence of sufficient knowledge of English before they begin their course. The level required is IELTS 6.5 or equivalent.


    IBERS at Aberystwyth University is pleased to have been awarded a limited number of British Commonwealth Scholarships. The awards will cover the tuition fees of MSc programs starting in September 2023.

    Apply Now




About the author


Leave a Comment